• Toss Woollaston, Colin McCahon, Rita Angus, Doris Lusk, W H Allen, Leo Bensemann, Olive Spencer Bower

Nelson Hills brings together artworks from The Group that depict the wider Nelson and Tasman region. While The Group was primarily a Christchurch based collective, their members had a wide reach and traveled across Aotearoa to work, make and live.

For these artists Nelson was a very popular location to spend their time, and upon which to base their artworks. With seasonal agricultural work that supplemented an artist’s income, the strength of the Pacifist community, as well as the bonds of friendship meant that even after The Group disbanded in 1977, many of its members continued to spend time in Nelson. Our hills, valleys, shorelines, orchards and estuaries cried out to be painted. As Toss Woollaston said – “It is a landscape calling for honouring.”

–Sarah McClintock | Suter Curator

Opening Hours

  • Open daily, 9.30am - 4.30pm


  • 208 Bridge Street
  • Whakatū, Nelson