• Ruth Buchanan
  • Jacqueline Fraser
  • Jess Johnson & Simon Ward
  • Pati Solomona Tyrell

New Zealand's contemporary art award, the Walters Prize returns to the Gallery in 2018 for its ninth iteration. Named in honour of pioneering modernist painter Gordon Walters (1919–1995), the Walters Prize is awarded for an outstanding work of contemporary New Zealand art produced and exhibited during the past two years. The biennial Prize aims to make contemporary art a more widely recognised and debated feature of cultural life.

The exhibition includes installations by the four finalists, Ruth Buchanan, Jacqueline Fraser, Jess Johnson and Simon Ward, and Pati Solomona Tyrell.

The international judge for the Walters Prize 2018 is Adriano Pedrosa, Artistic Director at the globally renowned São Paulo Museum of Art (MASP), Brazil. Pedrosa is an eminent Latin American writer and critic and internationally recognised for his curatorial work across significant biennial platforms, including São Paulo, San Diego/Tijuana (inSite) and Istanbul. The Prize was won by Ruth Buchanan.

Ruth Buchanan is represented in New Zealand by Hopkinson Mossman (Wellington), Jacqueline Fraser is represented in New Zealand by Michael Lett (Auckland), Jess Johnson is represented in New Zealand by Ivan Anthony (Auckland).

Opening Hours

  • Everyday 10am - 5pm


  • Wellesley Street East
  • Auckland 1010