• Juliet Carpenter
  • Owen Connors
  • Brett Graham
  • Ana Iti

The Walters Prize is Aotearoa New Zealand’s largest and most prestigious contemporary art award. Established in 2002 and now in its 11th iteration, the prize showcases and promotes contemporary art, and has, since its inception, shaped emergent discussion about contemporary New Zealand art. The Walters Prize 2024 marks the first iteration of the award in its new triennial format.

As part of the prize, the Gallery presents an exhibition by four artists who have been nominated by an independent jury for their outstanding contribution to contemporary art in Aotearoa New Zealand. The four finalists for the Walters Prize 2024 are Juliet Carpenter, Owen Connors, Brett Graham and Ana Iti. Works by the finalists will be on display in a free exhibition at the Gallery.

The winner of the 2024 Walters Prize will be announced by an esteemed international judge in October.

Click here for more information about the exhibiting artists.

The Walters Prize is made possible with the generous support of the following:
Founding Benefactors and principal donors – Erika and Robin Congreve, Dame Jenny Gibbs.
Major donors – Dayle Mace, Christopher and Charlotte Swasbrook.

Opening Hours

  • Daily, 10am-5pm


  • Wellesley Street East
  • Auckland CBD, 1010